Today in Philippine History, July 10, 1934, the Filipino voters elected delegates to a constitutional convention

On July 10, 1934, the Filipino voters elected 202 delegates to a constitutional convention which drafted the Philippine Constitution of 1935.

Headed by Claro M. Recto, the Constitutional Convention of 1934 was responsible for framing the 1935 Commonwealth Constitution which was approved by the United States on March 23, 1935.

The so-called "Seven Wise Men" -- Filemon Sotto, chairman, and Norberto Romualdez, Manuel Roxas, Vicente Singson Encarnacion, Manuel C. Briones, Miguel Cuaderno, and Conrado Benitez (who replaced Jose P. Laurel) -- prepared the draft of the Constitution.

The 1935 Constitution provided for unicameral National Assembly and the President was elected to a six-year term without re-election.

The Constitution was amended in 1940 to have a bicameral Congress composed of a Senate and House of Representatives, as well the creation of an independent electoral commission. The amendment also granted the President a four-year term with a maximum of two consecutive terms in office.

Philippine News Agency

If you like the article, please share.

Comment icon   Comments (Newest first)