Today in Philippine History, June 4, 1565, the Peace Treaty of Cebu was signed

Posted Sunday June 03, 2012 ()

On June 4, 1565, the peace treaty of Cebu between Miguel Lopez de Legazpi, representing King Philip II of Spain, and Rajah Tupas of Cebu was signed. It is the first Philippine peace treaty which effectively created Spain's suzerain over Cebu.

Rajah Tupaz was the son of Sri Parang the Limp, and the nephew of Rajah Humabon (also known as Sri Hamabar). He is known to have been baptized on March 21, 1568 at age 70, placing his birthdate at about 1497.

He ruled Cebu with his peers until he was defeated by Miguel Lopez de Legazpi's soldiers on April 27, 1565.

Following the signing of the treaty, in the same year, the church and convent of Santo NiƱo, the first Roman Catholic Church in the Philippines, was built by Father Andres de Urdaneta. This marked the beginning of Roman catholicism in the Philippines as Spanish priests from other religious orders followed.

Pambansang Komisyong Pangkasaysayan